The root of my “I am a golden god” fascination

I remain a nerd, and deep down, will always be uncool. In grade school, I tried to be cool. I think I only succeeded when I was in Grade 7. In high school, I felt uncool, but I think others saw me as cool. In college, I felt cool because I was a fish out of water since U.P. didn’t want me. In all those times, I was a nerd and felt uncool.

Every time I am overwhelmed by a movie, a book, a song, or an album, I always wish to write an essay or piece about it. What a nerd. I think I’ve done that a few times on my other blog for some mainstream titles. But the ones that have lodged themselves in me? I have never written about them. That was how overwhelming they are, they freeze my writing energy.

So imagine my persistence when I decided to use Almost Famous as my movie for a Hero’s Journey paper for a class. I could have chosen easier-to-peg movies like Kill Bill or even Little Miss Sunshine, but I wanted to pay homage to this movie.

The scenes still gave me goosebumps — the bus ride when they sang Tiny Dancer, Penny Lane alone onstage dancing to Cat Stevens’ The Wind, and Russell’s response to William’s question, “What do you love about music?,” which is “To begin with: Everything.” Of course, my perpetual and silly favorite would be the “I am a golden god” scene and the boot cut’s coverage of a Led Zeppelin song.

For all my ficklemindedness, mania, and distractions, I am glad I have these constants in my life. They’re like the five rings on my left hand: They anchor me. And it’s all cool.

This phrase actually belongs to R. Plant of Led Zep. Bow to the master.

I leave you with some quotes:

“I can’t keep up with you!”
“Oh, no one can.”

“And if you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and visit your friends.”

“Now you know my secrets, you’ve got me.”

“I’m always home. I’m uncool.”

“True music chooses you.”

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

