See only red

Apart from yellow, my favorite color is red; to be specific, blood red or in Filipino slang as per my insistence to call it thus, puta red. I also love red umbrellas to the point that I wrote a tribute for it here.

I feel red’s kick, its vitality, and its oozing luster that just breathes verve.

We all know Macy Gray. We all know her songs such as I Try and She Ain’t Right For You. I recently stumbled upon a fan’s music video that makes use of her song, I Try, over on Youtube. She is caty201074. Her usage of images with red tones is beautifully rendered.

Here are some stills:

I remember a friend who assigned this song to a special someone. I don’t know if they’re still together or if her world “already crumbled,” and she’s rebuilt it. All I know is this truth: Macy Gray’s voice matches red’s vitality. This is red in melody and in harmony. (oh, that rhymed, hee)

Another creation that celebrates red is Salvador Dali’s painting, The Elephant.

And my latest bloody fascination? A photo that merges motion, mermaid, dance, drowning, water, and red’s fiery character posted on this marvelous site (thanks, G dear, for the link).

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “See only red

  1. This post is so simple, but so passionate. So bagay na bagay nga ang red πŸ™‚

    Isn’t is amazing how both red and yellow, when paired with muted colors just seem so…alive?

    • weight of words says:

      Hello there. Couldn’t resist writing about red again. πŸ™‚ It was odd that we didn’t chat much the last time we saw each other. “Architectured” is one of the words I used in our short conversation, then time flew by, and I was saying “Bye!”. I hope you’re okay and giddy with your reclaimed freedom. :>

      Have you met up with Vince yet? πŸ™‚

      • I am so tired I had to re-think what could have prompted “architectured” before I remembered my dress. So I suppose that answers the question about reclaimed “freedom” (or is that “reclaimed” freedom, or perhaps “reclaimed freedom”?)

        No, I haven’t met up with him yet. Was thinking of inviting you and Tin to come along, but I haven’t gotten around to contacting anyone about it. For someone who’s technically unemployed, I am drowning in deadlines 😦

  2. weight of words says:

    We could just use “reclaimed” freedom. Haha!

    Do text us if you wish us to be there when you meet up with him. Are the deadlines under your former company? Whichever the case, make sure that you’ll get paid for your writing gigs, okay?

Leave a Reply

