ballerina

freefall is a section in weight of words for masturbatory, practice writing, random quotes and pieces of poetry. similar to a tattoo where an artist sketches an outline first before the very illustration, freefall is an outline of either beautiful or monstrous sets of words to come.

******

“remember that time when our friends found us too funny?”

“i didn’t know what we were repressing.”

“they knew all along.  it’s just that you didn’t want to ‘name’ it.  it’s semantics and more.  it’s there, and it’s gaping at you, that thing you said was lifeless that’s mumbling and moving on your workshop table.”

“when we talk to each other, why do i feel like we’re characters straight out of a book?”

“because we are, sort of.  you’ve made me your character, text, subject, mound of clay, clutch of plaster.  how many times did you write about me, my tics, my neuroses, my nightmares, my having nightmares, my writing about my having nightmares?”

“i needed to write about you.”

“and you did.  a lot.  you wrote never to fall in love with someone like me.  you wrote about me in relation with pails of colors.  you wrote about me and about mangoes and clutching at walls.”

“you write about me, too.”

“but they’re locked inside little vaults. your works about me are out in the open like billboard ads and grocery lists.”

“i’ve named my muse after you.”

“but you will never acknowledge me in your books.”

“we know why.  restraint.  but it’s not easy to forget (you).  i have eidetic memory, remember?  i’m sure you’ve forgotten.”

“you remember the color of my sneakers the first time we talked.  a person like you shouldn’t be forgotten because we should be wary around you.  you repeat my words, and it is horrifying — my thoughts jumping at me from another person’s mouth.”

“i live an orderly life.”

“i know that.  did you know that new zealand is the hotspot for adventure these days? why do i feel that you see me as your new zealand.”

“because i live an orderly life. it’s so orderly that i need to sleep light.  if i sleep way too deep, i would sleep talk.”

“and so?”

“i would surely say your name and other dangerous thoughts out loud.”

“dangerous… so what time do you need to be at that place?”

“too soon. please go with me?”

“no.”

 

Leave a Reply

