dog days

Today, I break this hiatus to write about a famous dog and a little bit about his human, a bit about my dogs, and a whisper about me.

I’ve always stalked Neil Gaiman online but never raved about him outright. I guess when I am too overwhelmed and too in awe, I fall into silence. I respect him, and his words, and his tales. I love him because he is an animal lover, and I love him because when he grieved for Cabal, I found myself peering into a dark space where I will surely find myself when my own dog, Jomari, dies. I love him because he loves his Amanda the way a selfless person loves another human.

He has authored a slew of books, co-authored another handful, and worked with fellow gods of the trade like Clive Barker and Alan Moore. I would love to have my hands on Chu’s Day and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. To date, I have a copy of Fragile Things and a copy of Coraline. I returned with reluctance to its owner a copy of a comic book he created with Dave McKean. I have other gems of Neil’s worlds saved on my phone in e-book format. I owe him my fascination toward Delirium.

To say he is a great writer is an understatement. He is emphatic, is world-wise, but most importantly, he is a dog lover and also owns a handful of cats.

When Cabal died, he felt sorrow. I remember the pets I cared for and prayed that a heaven for animals is being maintained well as I write.

When Dog-dog, the dad of Jomari, fell ill, my siblings and I had him confined. It was a weeklong vigil. He passed on the same year my stepdad died. The dog and probably my stepdad as well were tired.

From time to time, I go on FaceTime to talk to Jomari and Ashley, his fellow cheeky friend at our house. Jomari cocks his head whenever we call out to him. Don’t show him you are crying; it worries him and makes him pad up to you and nudge you with his nose. Or better yet, show him you’re crying. He is a great comfort.

Here is a new project by Neil. Keep an eye out for Cabal and Lola. They’re two of the real reasons why the world is a bit brighter and lighter.

Photo by Kimberley Butler, posted on www.journal.neilgaiman.com

Photo by Kimberley Butler, posted on http://www.journal.neilgaiman.com

Neil said of this photo: "The little flashlight around her neck is not really so that she can see better in the dark. It's so I can see her in the night."

Neil said of this photo: “The little flashlight around her neck is not really so that she can see better in the dark. It’s so I can see her in the night.”

All photos and appropriate captions plus Youtube video link are from journal.neilgaiman.com

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

